ANU and Wests win back to back premierships in a thriller grand final weekend

Share this article

Thousands of hockey fanatics braved the tumultuous weather to cheer on their teams at Hockey ACT’s Grand final Weekend.

In the Canberra Labor Club Womens Capital League Grandfinal, ANU took the lead with Grace Ronnefeldt scoring early in the second quarter. The third quarter had plenty of back and forth play with ANU goal keeper Peta Sutherland pulling off some dramatic saves to keep ANU ahead. Tuggeranong answered back at the start of the fourth quarter with Ashley Deacon, taking advantage of a poor pass by ANU’s back line.

The score remained at 1-1 for the rest of regular time forcing the game into shoot outs. Tuggeranong and ANU missed their first shots with both keepers pulling off stellar saves. Sammy Bowles from Tuggeranong and Isabel Cowell from ANU both converted leaving the scores dead locked. A miss by Tuggeranong’s Ellie Toole put ANU in front with two rounds to go. Conversions by Vikings Sophie Gaughan and Laura Grey were not enough to take the win with Rachel Barnsley scoring for ANU to wrap up the game 5-4.

Crookwell’s Jess Smith took out the player of the match award after a gutsy performance by the midfielder.

The Duncan’s Plumbing Capital League One Grand final had plenty of action, with Wests defeating Central 4-1. Central opened the goal scoring with captain Matt Hotchkis smacking the ball into the back of the net off a short corner variation early in the second quarter. West’s co-captain Owen Chivers answered back ten minutes later to equalize the game 1-1.

The third quarter saw a close affair before Wests tough man Brendan Laidley fired a lethal drag flick into the goal off a penalty corner. With momentum now on West’s side, Laidley rocketed another ball into the net early in the fourth quarter. With five minutes to go a desperate Central pulled off veteran keeper Luke Black however Wests capitalized and eventual man of the match winner Owen Chivers sealed the deal with his second goal of the night.

Final score Wests 4 defeat Central 1.

Full list of results:


CL1: West 4 defeat Central 1

CL2: Wests 3 defeat United 1

SL1: OCHC 2 defeat Central 1

SL2: Central 4 defeat Queanbeyan 1

SL3: Central 2 (3) defeat Queanbeyan 2 (0)

SL4: St Pats 0 (3) defeat Queanbeyan 0 (0)


CL1: ANU 1 (4) defeat Tuggeranong 1 (3)

CL2: ANU 1 (4) DEFEAT United 1 (3)

SL1: Time Travellers 3 defeat St Pats 0

SL2: ADFA 0 (2) DEFEAT Time Travellers 0 (0)

SL3: Central 3 defeat Valleys 2

SL4: Tuggeranong defeat OCHC

Hockey ACT Sponsors and Partners