Brophy McKay Awards Night

SEPTEMBER 16th 2020

Brophy McKay Presentation Evening

Hockey ACT’s annual Brophy McKay Presentation Evening celebrates all those involved in each hockey winter season by recognising and
acknowledging the outstanding support and achievements of players, umpires, and volunteers.

The evening brings together the hockey community and honours those who have made massive contributions to hockey in the ACT both in the
past and present.

The two most prestigious awards of the event include the Brophy and McKay Medals, which are awarded each year to the men and women who
have been voted as best and fairest for the season by the rest of the hockey community.



Brophy Medal

The Brophy Medal was created in 1961 and named in honour of the
associations long serving President Mr James Brophy.
James Brophy first became involved in Hockey in the early 1940’s
and served as President of the ACT Hockey Association from 1944
to 1964. It is interesting to note that Jim Brophy never played
Hockey and was never affiliated with any Hockey club, but wrote the
game reports for the Canberra Times right up until his death in
The Brophy Medal is awarded to the player who is the competitions
Best and Fairest. Points are awarded based on a 5, 3, 1 system for
best and fairest on field at the end of each game.


McKay Medal

Heather McKay donated this award in 1992. Heather McKay was
born in Queanbeyan and began playing Hockey at a young age with
her sisters. She took up squash to keep fit for playing Hockey. She
was a member of the formidable women’s first grade team, the
Evergreens who won 10 premierships from 1955-1967, in addition to
representing NSW and the ACT at State Championships. She was
regarded as one of the greatest female player’s in the history of
squash and possibly Australia’s greatest ever sportswoman. In
addition to her National representative career in Squash, she was a
member of the Australian Women’s Hockey Team in 1967 and 1971.
The McKay Medal is awarded to the player who is the competitions
Best and Fairest. Points are awarded based on a 5, 3, 1 system for
best and fairest on field at the end of each game.



Ben Staines – Goulburn 



Tina Taseska – Central



2019 Major Award Winners: 

The 2019 Brophy McKay Presentation Evening was held Wednesday 18th September at the Canberra
nbnbnbnbnbnbnbnbnbnnbnbnbnbnbnbnbnLabor Club.

Administrator Awards 2019

Bill Weidner Cup  Deb Mackenzie
Coca Cola Bottler Award Helen Legge
David Webb Memorial Shield Jay Macdonald
Chris Rawlinson Memorial Shield Anand Gupte


Officials Awards 2019

Sue Watt Trophy Madeline Dooley
Keith Harding Memorial Trophy Eligh Unwin
Umpire of the Year Emily Carroll
Jim Gallagher Trophy Stirling Sharpe


Representative Awards 2019

Lyn Rippon Award Emily Robson
The Hockey Shop Player Award Talei Forrest
Gallagher Shield Davis Atkin
Ted Holmes Memorial Trophy Aaron Knight
ACTAS  ‘Power  Potential’ Award Jay Macdonald


CL1 Competition Awards 2019

JR Fraser Trophy Olivia Martin
Most Improved in Capital League 1 Men Jay Macdonald
Deane McLennan Trophy Ben Staines & Lewis Shepherd
Peta Gallagher Award Catriona Bailey-Price

Peter McNally Memorial Award


Brendan Hill (Men’s)

Talei Forrest (Women’s)


Women’s Team of the Year 2019   nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn Men’s Team of the Year 2019

Goal Keeper Talei Forrest Goal Keeper Daniel McPherson
Left Back Shelley Watson Left Back James Jewell
Right Back  Kate Gilmore Right Back  Jay Macdonald
Left Half Rebecca Lee Left Half Thomson Stuckey
Right Half Samantha Economos Right Half Tim Black
Centre Half  Tina Taseska Centre Half  Ben Staines
Centre Forward Catriona Bailey-Price Centre Forward Glenn Turner
Left Inner Sophie Gaughan Left Inner Garry Backhus
Right Inner Jessica Smith Right Inner Jake Staines
Left Wing Ellie Toole Left Wing Aaron Knight
Right Wing  Mikayla Evans Right Wing  Lewis Shepherd

Hockey ACT Sponsors and Partners