Targeted Athlete Programs

ACT Academy of Sport (ACTAS)

The ACTAS Hockey Program provides scholarship holders with access to world-class coaching, facilities and support services as well as high performance training and competition environments. To be eligible for an ACTAS scholarship athletes must be identified from Hockey Australia as a current and/or potential National player. ACTAS’s view is to:

  • Provide a quality daily training environment for athletes selected in National Senior, Development and Junior Squads. Identify and develop potential National level athletes.
  • Increase the depth of potential National level athletes.
  • Develop a pathway for elite athletes to achieve their potential
  • Increase representation in National Teams.
  • Improve the performance of athletes and teams at national level and thus improving and/or maintaining the international ranking of Australian teams.

The current scholarship period is from 1 Feb 2019 – 31 Jan 2020.


Edwina Bone – AIS
Andrew Charter – AIS
Kalindi Commerford – AIS
Davis Atkin – Wests
James Day – OCHC/Melville
Naomi Evans  – St Pats/Melville
Talei Forrest – Central
Laura Gray – TVWHC
Anand Gupte – Wests
Aaron Knight – United
Olivia Martin – UCHC
Jay McDonald – Wests
Matt Neeson – United
Emily Robson – ANU
Ben Staines – Goulburn
Jake Staines – Goulburn
Tina Taseska – Central

Hockey ACT Emerging Talent Squad (ETS)

The HACT ETS Program is aimed at athletes that Hockey ACT believe have the potential to progress their hockey to a level deserving of a Full Scholarship with the ACT Academy of Sport within 2-4 years, and also the potential to be nationally identified in the future. The program is selective and selections are been based on past performances and potential to progress.

Athletes within the HACT ETS Program will be afforded the following development opportunities and benefits:
• Access to on pitch training sessions
• Access to Strength and Conditioning sessions
• Access to Educational Sessions such as Nutrition, Psychology and Personal Excellence where available
• Physiological Testing conducted by ACT Academy of Sport staff
• Access to additional training and competition opportunities as they arise

ETS Squad

Emma Baxter
Courtney Booth
Megan Bowles
Samantha Bowles
Madeline Dooley
Sarah Haines
Olivia Holgate
Chloe Ives
Lucy Jalland
Helen Legge
Philipa Lendrum
Taylor McNiven
Laura Monterosso
Keria Polmanteer
Zanthe Sheargold
Lauren Yee

Jesse Absolom
Sullivan Bacchus
Dylan Brick
Josh Carter
Max Curry
Aidan Dooley
Alex Green
Fin Hegyi
Adam Long
Darcy Macdonald
Matthew Mackenzie
Zac McGregor
Aiden Smith
Luke Syrek
George Vahey
Connaigh Whitaker

Minnie Arnold
Rhianne Dingley
Lauren Freeman
Mark Haines
Kieran Hammond
Sophia Lemon
Daniel Lowe
Kirsten Taylor
Anthony Thomas

Hockey ACT Sponsors and Partners